Home
Deutsch
English
contact imprint

Benefit: Separation of Concerns

From a development perspective, modern applications today are usually designed and implemented under the MVC (Model View Controller) paradigm. The resulting separation of layers allows a clear layout of the application and simplifies its extension. To a great extent, the quality of the software depends directly on the clear separation of the individual layers.

The Issue of MVC

Even relatively simple applications often have complicated controllers and data models, let alone the complexity of business critical applications. And a clear separation of concerns cannot always be followed through. Especially the view is often not completely detached from the application logic. This increasing complexity turns the maintenance and support as well as the addition of extensions into a very time-consuming and costly venture. The zen Platform overcomes these limitations on different levels.

The Controller

An application controller controls the entire application flow or workflow of an application. The zen Platform allows the workflow to be graphically modelled using the zen Developer. Since the workflow is executed during runtime by the integrated controller of the zen Platform, the development of the controller will then be already completed. Hence the complexity of the development and maintenance of the controller is reduced to the graphic modelling of the application workflow.

The zen Platform does not integrate the application business logic into the controller. Rather, the business logic is developed and managed separately within workflow driven and data driven operations, thus structuring it according to different concerns and keeping it separate from the rest of the system. Even for sophisticated business critical applications, this allows the business logic to be easily developed, maintained and extended.

The Model

Similar to the workflow, the application model is defined graphically in the zen Developer. Usually, the application code for validating the model is directly integrated in the model and therefore dependent on it. This easily makes the validation very complex, since there is no clear separation of model and validation. Changes in the model always entail changes in the data validation. In addition to that, the reuse of data is made more difficult. Therefore the zen Platform separates the model from its validation, so that the data validation is a separate entity of its own which is entirely decoupled from the model.

The View

On the zen Platform, the view, i.e. the presentation layer of an application is completely separated from controller, business logic, model, and data validation. The strict separation of presentation and application logic enables the zen Platform to support any number of output formats on the basis of the same application without having any impact on the application itself. This way, new additional output formats can be added any time without having to adjust the application.

more

Home / Products / zen Platform / Separation of Concerns

More about the zen Platform

zen Platform
Application Examples
Benefits
Technical Details
System Requirements
Case Studies

Benefits of the zen Platform

Focus on the Solution

Rapid Application Development

Intuitive Application Knowledge

Scaling to Your Needs

Variable Output Formats

Process Orientation

Separation of Concerns

Reduced Complexity

Less Downtime

Less Maintenance and Support

Data Consistency and Data Security

Comprehensive Services

Localized Resources

Extensibility and Flexibility

Automatic Documentation

Automated Business Logic

Home
Deutsch
English
Kontakt   Impressum

Vorteil: Separation of Concerns

Moderne Anwendungen werden aus der Entwicklungsperspektive heute meistens nach dem MVC-Paradigma (Model-View-Controller) entworfen und umgesetzt. Durch die Schichtentrennung, die sich daraus ergibt, sind sie nicht zuletzt übersichtlicher und leichter zu erweitern. Die Qualität von Software hängt zu einem großen Teil direkt davon ab, in wieweit diese einzelnen Schichten (oder auch Layer) klar voneinander getrennt sind.

Problematik von MVC

Schon relativ einfache Anwendungen haben oft aufwendige Controller und Datenmodelle, ganz zu schweigen von der Komplexität unternehmenskritischer Anwendungen. Zudem kann die klare Trennung der Aufgabenbereiche nicht immer durchgehalten werden. Speziell die View wird oft nicht völlig von der Anwendungslogik separiert. Die Wartungs- und Pflegearbeiten oder Erweiterungen werden durch die steigende Komplexität sehr aufwendig und kostenintensiv. Die zen Platform löst diese Einschränkungen auf verschiedenen Ebenen.

Der Controller

Der Controller einer Anwendung steuert den gesamten Anwendungsfluß respektive den Workflow einer Anwendung. In der zen Platform wird der Workflow im zen Developer graphisch modelliert. Da der Workflow zur Laufzeit vom integrierten Controller der zen Platform ausgeführt wird, ist die Entwicklung des Controllers damit schon abgeschlossen. Die Komplexität bei Entwicklung und Pflege des Controllers reduziert sich also auf die graphische Modellierung des Anwendungsworkflows.

Die Geschäftslogik einer Anwendung wird mit der zen Platform nicht in den Controller integriert. Sie wird getrennt davon im Rahmen von workflow- und datengetriebenen Operationen entwickelt und verwaltet. Die Geschäftslogik wird somit nach Aufgabenbereichen strukturiert und bleibt durch die Separation vom restlichen System getrennt. Sie ist daher sogar bei komplexen unternehmenskritischen Anwendungen einfach zu entwickeln, übersichtlich zu pflegen und zu erweitern.

Das Model

Das Modell einer Anwendung wird, wie auch der Workflow, im zen Developer graphisch definiert. Der Anwendungscode zur Validierung des Modells wird bei üblicher Software direkt in das Modell integriert und ist somit davon abhängig. Die Validierung wird dadurch schnell unübersichtlich, da keine klare Trennung zwischen Modell und Validierung existiert. Änderungen am Modell ziehen jedesmal Änderungen an der Datenvalidierung mit sich. Außerdem wird deren Wiederverwendung deutlich erschwert. Die zen Platform trennt daher das Modell und dessen Validierung. Die Datenvalidierung bildet eine eigene, klar getrennte Einheit, die vom Modell entkoppelt ist.

Die View

Die View, also die Präsentationsschicht einer Anwendung, ist in der zen Platform komplett getrennt von Controller, Geschäftslogik, Model und Datenvalidierung. Durch diese strikte Separation von Darstellung und Anwendungslogik kann die zen Platform beliebig viele Ausgabeformate auf Basis der gleichen Anwendung unterstützen, ohne daß die Anwendung davon beeinflußt wird. So kann jederzeit ein neues zusätzliches Ausgabeformat hinzugefügt werden, ohne die Anwendung daran anpassen zu müssen.

» weiter

 
Home / Produkte / zen Platform / Separation of Concerns

Mehr über die zen Platform

» zen Platform
» Anwendungsbeispiele
» Vorteile
» Technische Details
» Systemanforderungen
» Fallstudien

Vorteile der zen Platform

» Konzentration auf die Lösung

» Rapid Application Development

» Intuitives Anwendungsverständnis

» Bedarfsabhängige Skalierung

» Variable Ausgabeformate

» Prozeßorientierung

» Separation of Concerns

» Reduzierte Komplexität

» Reduzierte Ausfallzeit

» Reduzierte Wartungskosten

» Datenkonsistenz- und sicherheit

» Umfangreiche Dienste

» Lokalisierte Ressourcen

» Erweiterbarkeit und Flexibilität

» Automatische Dokumentation

» Automatisierung von Geschäftslogik