contact   imprint

Benefit: Less Maintenance and Support

The amount of time and resources expended on the administration, maintenance, modification and extension of an application are often an underestimated cost factor which rises with the increasing complexity of the application. Pressure of costs is most often felt in this area because according to studies these costs have a 50-90% share in the overall costs and thus by far exceed the actual development costs. Why actually?

Cost Factor

High costs have several reasons:

  • Often the initial project developers are no longer available, which makes the task of training new employees very time-consuming. And even if the initial developers are still around, they need to brush up their knowledge of the application before they can get to work on it.
  • After the development, the documentation of the application is an important aid, yet often it does not reflect the most recent development stage.
  • Normally, the slightest modifications of existing applications have substantial side-effects, because the program logic of many applications is not clearly separated into different concerns. Assessing the possible consequences if often a matter of luck.


The zen Platform minimizes this cost factor by promoting an intuitive understanding of the application, dividing tasks into separate well-structured concerns and reducing downtime, thus making the costs predictable. Using the zen Platform and zen Developer, the unpredictable costs resulting from the actual application development are therefore no longer relevant, and projects can be planned on a long-term basis.

» more

Home / Products / zen Platform / Less Maintenance and Support

More about the zen Platform

» zen Platform
» Application Examples
» Benefits
» Technical Details
» System Requirements
» Case Studies

Benefits of the zen Platform

» Focus on the Solution

» Rapid Application Development

» Intuitive Application Knowledge

» Scaling to Your Needs

» Variable Output Formats

» Process Orientation

» Separation of Concerns

» Reduced Complexity

» Less Downtime

» Less Maintenance and Support

» Data Consistency and Data Security

» Comprehensive Services

» Localized Resources

» Extensibility and Flexibility

» Automatic Documentation

» Automated Business Logic

Home
Deutsch
English
Kontakt   Impressum

Vorteil: Reduzierte Wartungs- und Pflegeaufwände

Die Gesamtaufwände für Wartung, Pflege, Anpassung oder Erweiterung einer Anwendung sind ein oft unterschätzter Kostenfaktor, der gerade mit steigender Anwendungskomplexität wächst. Kostendruck in diesem Bereich entsteht vor allem aus dem Grund, daß dieser Kostenanteil allen bekannten Untersuchungen zufolge mit etwa 50-90% der Gesamtaufwände deutlich stärker als die eigentlichen Entwicklungskosten zu Buche schlägt. Warum eigentlich?

Kostenfaktor

Die Gründe für den hohen Kostenfaktor sind vielfältig:

  • Die ursprünglichen Entwickler eines Projektes sind oft nicht mehr verfügbar, daher ist die Einarbeitung neuer Mitarbeiter sehr zeitintensiv. Auch wenn noch auf die ursprünglichen Entwickler zurückgegriffen werden kann, müssen diese ihr Anwendungswissen erst wieder auffrischen, bevor sie produktiv werden können.
  • Die Dokumentation ist nach der Entwicklung ein zentrales Hilfsmittel, aber sie stimmt oft nicht exakt mit dem letzten Entwicklungsstand überein.
  • Normalerweise haben schon kleine Modifikationen an bestehenden Anwendungen umfangreiche Seiteneffekte zur Folge, da die Programmlogik vieler Anwendungen nicht klar in Aufgabenbereiche separiert ist. Die Folgenabschätzung wird dadurch teilweise zum Glücksspiel.

Lösung

Die zen Platform reduziert diesen Kostenanteil auf ein Minimum, indem sie unter anderem durch die Förderung von intuitivem Anwendungsverständnis, der strukturierten Trennung von Aufgabenbereichen und der reduzierten Downtime gerade diesen Kostenfaktor berechenbar macht. Die nur schwer abzuschätzenden Folgeaufwände nach der eigentlichen Anwendungsentwicklung spielen mit der zen Platform und dem zen Developer somit keine relevante Rolle mehr. Damit werden Projekte auch langfristig planbar.

» weiter

 
Home / Produkte / zen Platform / Reduzierte Wartungskosten

Mehr über die zen Platform

» zen Platform
» Anwendungsbeispiele
» Vorteile
» Technische Details
» Systemanforderungen
» Fallstudien

Vorteile der zen Platform

» Konzentration auf die Lösung

» Rapid Application Development

» Intuitives Anwendungsverständnis

» Bedarfsabhängige Skalierung

» Variable Ausgabeformate

» Prozeßorientierung

» Separation of Concerns

» Reduzierte Komplexität

» Reduzierte Ausfallzeit

» Reduzierte Wartungskosten

» Datenkonsistenz- und sicherheit

» Umfangreiche Dienste

» Lokalisierte Ressourcen

» Erweiterbarkeit und Flexibilität

» Automatische Dokumentation

» Automatisierung von Geschäftslogik