Home
Deutsch
English
contact   imprint

The zen Platform for Online Travel Insurance Marketing

The » Europäische Reiseversicherung AG (ERV) needed a particularly flexible and scalable system for selling travel insurance policies on the internet. An application developed with traditional servlet/JSP technology was not able to meet the high standards. This is why the Europäische Reiseversicherung opted for the zen Platform as the strategic platform for its entire eCommerce activities - not just the sale of insurance policies. Now their own IT employees are able to quickly create, maintain and administrate scalable applications.

Starting Point

The Europäische Reiseversicherung used a traditional servlet/JSP based solution of an external supplier to sell travel insurance on the internet. As a tactical and robust development this solution was able to give them a start in the online marketing of travel insurance, but it also had some decisive drawbacks:

  • The business logic (the insurance specific product know-how) and the marketing logic (the way a certain product can be sold online) were written in the customary Java code.
  • As a mere servlet/JSP solution the system was not scalable enough to meet an increasing demand.
  • The whole text of the insurance sales forms was included in the JSP pages, and the country-specific logic was included in the product code.

Objectives

The products that had been sold on the internet so far had initially been designed for the travel agency business. However, for the sale on the internet, specialized insurance products were to be developed, which were to be aimed at certain target groups, e.g. offering:

  • for end customers: an online assistant which calculates the best possible rate from the customer's input
  • for the staff of travel agencies and call centers: an expert mode which allows individual rates to be booked directly with little processing time

The future products and sales procedures were supposed to able to be adapted flexibly and quickly to the market requirements by the insurance's own IT employees, without having to resort to the external supplier. Unforeseeable requirements should be able to be integrated any time. Moreover, the products were to be sold in multiple languages in the future.

A drastic increase in the sales volume was expected with the enhanced marketing of online sales in partner/affiliate programmes. Therefore the future solution had to be scalable and easy to administer.

These newly set objectives could not be met on the basis of the existing solution, because the firm implementation of the business logic - and above all the marketing logic - in Java code would have led to an increased complexity that would have been impossible to manage. If one then adds multi-language support and visualization, the complexity of the implementation increases almost indefinitely (product x sales procedures x visualization). Therefore a strict separation of product logic, application workflows and visualization was necessary to make each of these cornerstones interchangeable.

Solution

The Europäische Reiseversicherung chose the zen Platform as its strategic platform for the online sale of insurance policies. The separation of data, workflow, business logic and visualization enabled the company's own IT staff to design and maintain any kind of insurance product and sales procedures in a short time. Moreover, the zen Platform allowed the company to create completely different online applications, e.g. a web configurator for partner companies, to adapt the sales application to the appearance of each of the partner's websites. And every zen application always comes with multi-language support.

Ever since the Europäische Reiseversicherung transferred their online insurance sales to the zen Platform, their sales figures have increased manifold and the zen Platform easily copes with the increased load. A backup computer allows changes in the application to be performed during runtime without any downtime. The zen Platform makes sure that user sessions are automatically re-routed to the backup computer in a transparent manner.

 
Home / Products / zen Platform / Online Insurance Marketing

More about the zen Platform

» zen Platform
» Application Examples
» Benefits
» Technical Details
» System Requirements
» Case Studies

Case Studies

» Online Insurance Marketing

» Linking to a Host System (CRS)

» Partner Integration on the Internet

Download Case Studies

The individual case studies are also available in pdf format on our download page.

» Download

Home
Deutsch
English
Kontakt   Impressum

Die zen Platform zum Online-Verkauf von Reiseversicherungen

Zum Verkauf von Reiseversicherungen im Internet benötigte die » Europäische Reiseversicherung AG (ERV) ein besonders flexibles und skalierbares System. Eine mit herkömmlicher Servlet/JSP-Technologie entwickelte Anwendung konnte den hohen Anforderungen nicht standhalten. Daraufhin wählte die Europäische Reiseversicherung die zen Platform als strategische Plattform für ihr eCommerce - nicht nur für den Versicherungsverkauf. Jetzt können die eigenen IT-Mitarbeiter komplexe und skalierbare Anwendungen in kürzester Zeit erstellen, problemlos pflegen und administrieren.

Ausgangslage

Die Europäische Reiseversicherung setzte zum Verkauf von Reiseversicherungen über das Internet eine herkömmliche Servlet/JSP-basierte Lösung eines externen Dienstleisters ein. Diese Lösung war als taktische und robuste Entwicklung in der Lage, den Vorsprung im Online-Reiseversicherungsverkauf zu behaupten, brachte jedoch einige entscheidende Nachteile mit sich:

  • Die Geschäftslogik (das versicherungsspezifische Produktwissen) und die Verkaufslogik (die Art und Weise, wie ein bestimmtes Produkt online verkauft werden kann) waren wie üblich in Java-Code ausformuliert.
  • Als reine Servlet/JSP-Lösung gab es kaum Skalierungsmöglichkeiten, um einer steigenden Nachfrage gerecht zu werden.
  • Die gesamte Vertextung der Formulare für den Versicherungsverkauf war in den JSP-Seiten enthalten, länderspezifische Logik in dem Produkt-Code.

Ziele

Die bisher im Internet verkauften Produkte wurden ursprünglich für das Reisebürogeschäft gestaltet. Für den Internetverkauf sollten jedoch spezialisierte Versicherungsprodukte entwickelt werden, die jeweils auf verschiedene Weise zielgruppenorientiert verkauft werden sollten, z.B:

  • für Endkunden über einen Online-Assistenten, der aus den versicherungsrelevanten Eingaben des Kunden einen optimalen Tarif berechnet
  • für Reisebüro- oder Callcentermitarbeiter über einen Expertenmodus, der bei geringer Bearbeitungszeit die Direktbuchung von einzelnen Tarifen ermöglicht

Die Produkte und Verkaufsverfahren sollten zukünftig von den eigenen IT-Mitarbeitern flexibel und zeitnah ohne Rückgriff auf den externen Dienstleister an die Markterfordernisse angepasst werden können. Dabei sollten auch jederzeit unvorhergesehene Anforderungen integriert werden können. Darüber hinaus sollte der Produktverkauf zukünftig mehrsprachig erfolgen.

Durch die wachsende Vermarktung des Online-Verkaufs in Partner/Affiliate-Programmen wurde mit einer drastischen Zunahme des Verkaufsvolumens gerechnet. Die zukünftige Lösung mußte also skalierbar und leicht administrierbar sein.

Die neu gesetzten Ziele konnten auf Basis der bisherigen Lösung nicht realisiert werden, da die feste Implementierung der Geschäftslogik - vor allem aber der Verkaufslogik - in Java-Code zu einer nicht handhabbaren Komplexitätssteigerung geführt hätte. Wird zusätzlich noch die Mehrsprachenfähigkeit bzw. Visualisierung hinzugenommen, entsteht eine hohe Implementierungskombinatorik (Produkte x Verkaufsverfahren x Visualisierung). Nötig war daher eine strikte Trennung von Produktlogik, Anwendungsworkflows und Visualisierung, um diese Eckpfeiler jeweils austauschbar zu machen.

Lösung

Die Europäische Reiseversicherung wählte die zen Platform als strategische Plattform für den Online-Versicherungsverkauf. Durch die Trennung von Daten, Workflow, Geschäftslogik und Visualisierung können die eigenen IT-Mitarbeiter zeitnah beliebige Versicherungsprodukte und neue Verkaufsverfahren gestalten und pflegen. Darüber hinaus konnten im Hause mit der zen Platform auch völlig andere Online-Anwendungen erstellt werden, z.B. ein Webkonfigurator für Partnerunternehmen, mit dem sich die Verkaufsanwendung an das Erscheinungsbild jeder Partner-Website anpassen läßt. Jede zen-Anwendung ist darüber hinaus grundsätzlich mehrsprachenfähig.

Seit die Europäische Reiseversicherung den Online-Versicherungsverkauf auf die zen Platform umgestellt hat, sind die Verkaufszahlen um mehrere Größenordnungen gestiegen - die zen Platform kann die erheblich höhere Last spielend verarbeiten. Durch einen Backup-Rechner können Änderungen der Anwendung während der Laufzeit ohne Wartungszeitfenster durchgeführt werden. Die zen Platform sorgt dafür, daß Benutzersessions automatisch und transparent auf den Backup-Rechner umgeleitet werden.

 
Home / Produkte / zen Platform / Versicherungverkauf im Internet

Mehr über die zen Platform

» zen Platform
» Anwendungsbeispiele
» Vorteile
» Technische Details
» Systemanforderungen
» Fallstudien

Fallstudien

» Versicherungverkauf im Internet

» Hostanbindung (CRS)

» Partnerintegration im Internet

Download Fallstudien

Im Download-Bereich stehen die einzelnen Fallstudien auch im PDF-Format zur Verfügung.

» Download