Home
Deutsch
English
contact   imprint

Linking the zen Platform to a Host System

Marketing insurance policies via the host-based computer reservation systems (CRS) of various suppliers is the most important sales channel of the » Europäische Reiseversicherung AG (ERV). Up to today, the product logic and insurance rates were managed by the CRS suppliers. Product modifications had to be carried out by each individual CRS supplier independently in a very cost-intensive and time-consuming manner. Using the zen Platform for CRS sales, the Europäische Reiseversicherung is now able to manage its product logic and rates internally and respond to market requirements in a timely manner.

Starting Point

Selling insurance via host-based reservation systems (CRS) is the most important sales channel of the Europäische Reiseversicherung. CRS suppliers such as Amadeus (Start) or DCS (Sabre/Merlin) operate those systems centrally. CRS does not only offer the possibility to book or reserve flights, hotels and rental cars, but also to sell travel insurance. Up to now the necessary product logic and insurance rates were stored or implemented on the supplier's host system. Time-consuming and costly changes in the product portfolio or adjustments of insurance rates therefore had to be carried out on the host computers of the respective CRS suppliers.

Objectives

The idea was to reduce the dependence on CRS suppliers and to keep the product logic and the rates system in-house. The advantages of this approach are:

  • All necessary changes can be carried out independently by employees of the Europäische Reiseversicherung, rather than having them implemented with great delay and negative impact on costs by each CRS supplier on his host.
  • The product and marketing logic of online sales and CRS sales can be standardized and shared.

Since the Europäische Reiseversicherung had already successfully launched its online marketing system using the zen Platform, the traditional CRS sales channel via travel agencies was to be integrated on the zen Platform in the following manner:

As usual the employee in the travel agency enters the booking of a travel insurance into a terminal from where it is sent to the host of a CRS supplier. However, the host does not process the entry itself, but transmits it to the zen Platform at Europäische Reiseversicherung. The zen Platform processes the entry and returns a confirmation to the host. This confirmation can then be viewed on the terminal. For the employee in the travel agency this process is completely transparent.

Compared with the online sales process, CRS sales generate a lot more hits on the system. Therefore CRS sales also make greater demands on the response time and availability of the system.

Solution

The connection of CRS suppliers to the zen Platform was realized as a web service. Since the zen Platform has a native XML front-end, the web service interface can be directly mapped to the hierarchical data model of the zen application.

This is how the CRS supplier DCS (Sabre/Merlin) was successfully connected to the zen Platform with comparatively little implementation effort. In the meantime this connection has already gone live. Based on the positive experience, the connection to other CRS suppliers (e.g. Amadeus (Start)) has already been brought under way.

The zen Platform easily meets the great demands on response behaviour and availability; in order to do this, the platform operates on a cluster of application servers. Due to the zen Platform's scalability, application programmers do not need to concern themselves with the technical details of the system.

  • Depending on the number of requests, you can add or remove additional nodes from the cluster.
  • Efficient session replication enables you to keep up operations without loss of data even if one of the nodes fails.
  • You can carry out software updates without downtime.

With the CRS sales, the IT staff of the Europäische Reiseversicherung was able to independently transfer a central business critical process to the zen Platform, thus fully returning the control over product logic and insurances rates to Europäische Reiseversicherung. Changes in products and rates can now be implemented by the company's own employees without causing delays and additional costs.

 
Home / Products / zen Platform / Linking to a Host System (CRS)

More about the zen Platform

» zen Platform
» Application Examples
» Benefits
» Technical Details
» System Requirements
» Case Studies

Case Studies

» Online Insurance Marketing

» Linking to a Host System (CRS)

» Partner Integration on the Internet

Download Case Studies

The individual case studies are also available in pdf format on our download page.

» Download

Home
Deutsch
English
Kontakt   Impressum

Anbindung der zen-Platform an ein Host-System

Der Versicherungsverkauf über hostbasierte Reservierungssysteme (CRS) verschiedener Anbieter ist der bedeutendste Vertriebskanal der » Europäischen Reiseversicherung AG (ERV). Bisher wurden Produktlogik und Versicherungstarife bei den CRS-Anbietern verwaltet. Änderungen an den Produkten mußten daher zeitaufwendig und kostenintensiv von jedem einzelnen CRS-Anbieter parallel durchgeführt werden. Durch die Nutzung der zen Platform zum CRS-Verkauf kann die Europäische Reiseversicherung heute Produktlogik und Tarife im eigenen Hause verwalten und zeitnah auf Markterfordernisse reagieren.

Ausgangslage

Der bedeutendste Vertriebskanal der Europäischen Reiseversicherung ist der Versicherungsverkauf über hostbasierte Reservierungssysteme (sog. CRS). Die CRS-Anbieter wie z.B. Amadeus (Start) oder DCS (Sabre/Merlin) betreiben solche Systeme zentral. Ein CRS bietet nicht nur Reservierungs- und Buchungsmöglichkeiten für Flüge, Hotels und Mietwagen, sondern dient auch zum Verkauf von Reiseversicherungen. Hierzu waren bisher Produktlogik und Versicherungstarife bei dem jeweiligen Anbieter hinterlegt bzw. auf dessen Hostsystem implementiert. Änderungen am Produktportfolio bzw. an der Tarifstruktur mußte die Europäische Reiseversicherung daher zeit- und kostenintensiv auf den Hostrechnern der jeweiligen CRS-Anbieter pflegen lassen.

Ziele

Die so entstandene Abhängigkeit von den CRS-Anbietern sollte reduziert werden und die Produktlogik und das Tarifsystem im Hause verbleiben. Daraus ergeben sich folgende Vorteile:

  • Alle nötigen Änderungen können von Mitarbeitern der Europäischen Reiseversicherung selbständig durchgeführt werden, statt diese kostenintensiv und mit großer Zeitverzögerung von jedem CRS-Anbieter für jeden Host nachimplementieren zu lassen.
  • Die Produkt- und Verkaufslogik des Online-Verkaufs und des CRS-Verkaufs kann vereinheitlicht bzw. gemeinsam genutzt werden.

Da die Europäische Reiseversicherung bereits den Online-Verkauf erfolgreich auf der zen Platform realisiert hatte, sollte auch der herkömmliche CRS-Vertriebsweg über Reisebüros auf der zen Platform wie folgt integriert werden:

Die Buchung einer Reiseversicherung wird von einem Mitarbeiter im Reisebüro wie gewohnt in einem Terminal eingegeben und an den Host eines CRS-Anbieters geschickt. Der Host bearbeitet die Buchung jedoch nicht mehr selbst, sondern leitet diese an die zen Platform bei der Europäischen Reiseversicherung weiter. Die zen Platform verarbeitet die Buchung und sendet eine Bestätigung an den Host zurück. Die Bestätigung kann daraufhin wieder im Terminal angezeigt werden. Für den Reisebüromitarbeiter ist dieser Vorgang völlig transparent.

Der CRS-Verkauf generiert ein Vielfaches an Zugriffen verglichen mit dem Online-Verkauf über das Internet. Für den CRS-Verkauf gelten daher wesentlich höhere Anforderungen an die Antwortzeit und die Verfügbarkeit des Systems.

Lösung

Die Anbindung von CRS-Anbietern an die zen Platform wurde als Web-Service realisiert. Da die zen Platform ein natives XML-Frontend besitzt, kann die Web-Service-Schnittstelle direkt über das hierarchische Datenmodell der zen-Anwendung abgebildet werden.

So konnte bereits der CRS-Anbieter DCS (Sabre/Merlin) mit vergleichsweise geringem Implementierungsaufwand erfolgreich an die zen Platform angebunden werden. Die Anbindung läuft inzwischen im Produktivbetrieb. Aufgrund der positiven Erfahrungen ist die Anbindung weiterer CRS-Anbieter, derzeit z.B. Amadeus (Start), in Arbeit.

Die hohen Anforderungen an Antwortverhalten und Verfügbarkeit erfüllt die zen Platform problemlos; sie wird hierzu in einem Applikationsserver-Cluster betrieben. Die zen Platform sorgt für die Skalierung, die Anwendungsprogrammierung muß sich nicht mit systemtechnischen Details auseinandersetzen.

  • Je nach Anfragevolumen können dynamisch zusätzliche Rechnerknoten in den Cluster aufgenommen bzw. wieder entfernt werden.
  • Durch effiziente Sessionreplikation kann selbst bei Ausfall eines Rechnerknotens ohne Datenverlust weitergearbeitet werden.
  • Softwareupdates können ohne Wartungszeitfenster durchgeführt werden.

Mit dem CRS-Verkauf konnten die IT-Mitarbeiter der Europäischen Reiseversicherung eigenständig einen zentralen geschäftskritischen Prozeß auf die zen Platform transferieren. Die Kontrolle über Produktlogik und Versicherungstarife liegt wieder voll bei der Europäischen Reiseversicherung. Änderungen an Produkten und Tarifen können zeitnah und ohne Zusatzkosten von den eigenen Mitarbeitern umgesetzt werden.

 
Home / Produkte / zen Platform / Hostanbindung (CRS)

Mehr über die zen Platform

» zen Platform
» Anwendungsbeispiele
» Vorteile
» Technische Details
» Systemanforderungen
» Fallstudien

Fallstudien

» Versicherungverkauf im Internet

» Hostanbindung (CRS)

» Partnerintegration im Internet

Download Fallstudien

Im Download-Bereich stehen die einzelnen Fallstudien auch im PDF-Format zur Verfügung.

» Download